bg image

Visa Information to visit Brazil

How to apply for a tourist visa to Brazil


How to apply for a tourist visa to Brazil

Brazil requires many tourists to obtain a visa. Please check with your local embassy if a Visa is required. Or you can also find out if you need a visa to travel to Brazil, accessing:

As of October 1st, 2023, citizens of the United States, Canada and Australia will once again have to obtain a tourist visa to enter Brazil.

The visa process in many jurisdictions will start with an online application. Below is a list of Brazillian Consulates where you can navigate to the proper page to start your visa process.

List of Consulates in US and their Jurisdiction

What do you need to get the visa

To enter Brazil, including infants, must have both a passport and a tourist visa (valid for five years). To obtain one, you must submit the following to the Brazilian Embassy or to the nearest consulate.


A passport that will be valid for six months past the date of first entry to Brazil. The passport must have at least 2 blank pages designated for “VISAS” and must be signed by holder.


A passport-type photo, size 2″ x 2″, front view with full face;


A photocopy of your roundtrip ticket, flight itinerary or a signed letter from a travel agency with confirmed roundtrip bookings, which we provide you, or proof of your ability to pay for your stay in Brazil;


Application form with fields 1-27 filled out and signed. Form to present to Consulate must have original signature (not a faxed form); Additionally;


Children under age of 6 are required to show a certificate of vaccinations against polio, stating type and age;


If applicant is under the age of 18, and is traveling without parents or a legal guardian, a notarized letter of consent signed by parents or legal guardian is required.

More +

Visa have been waived for citizens of the following countries:


Albania Andorra
Austria Belarus
Belgium Bosnia and Herzegovina
Bulgaria Croatia
Cyprus Czech Republic
Denmark Estonia
Faroe Islands Finland
France Georgia
Germany Gibraltar
Greece Greenland
Hungary Iceland
Ireland Italy
Kosovo Latvia
Liechtenstein Lithuania
Luxembourg Malta
Moldova Monaco
Montenegro Netherlands
North Macedonia Norway
Poland Portugal
Romania Russian Federation
San Marino Serbia
Slovakia Slovenia
Spain Sweden
Switzerland Turkey
Ukraine United Kingdom


Argentina Belize
Bermuda Bolivia
Chile Colombia
Costa Rica Ecuador
El Salvador Falkland Islands
Guatemala Guyana
Honduras Nicaragua
Panama Paraguay
Peru Uruguay


Anguilla Antigua and Barbuda
Aruba Bahamas
Barbados Bonaire; Sint Eustatius and Saba
British Virgin Islands Cayman Islands
Curacao Dominica
Dominican Republic French West Indies
Grenada Haiti
Jamaica Montserrat
Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia
Sint Maarten Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Trinidad and Tobago Turks and Caicos Islands


Japan Cambodia *
Hong Kong Indonesia *
Kazakhstan Kyrgyzstan *
Laos * Macau
Malaysia Maldives *
Mongolia Nepal *
Philippines Singapore
South Korea ** Sri Lanka **
Tajikistan * Thailand
East Timor * Uzbekistan


Cook Islands Fiji
French Polynesia Marshall Islands *
Micronesia New Caledonia
New Zealand** Niue
Palau* Papua New Guinea*
Samoa* Solomon Islands*
Tonga* Tuvalu*


Botswana Burkina Faso *
Burundi * Cape Verde Islands *
Comoros * Egypt *
Eswatini Ethiopia *
Gabon * Guinea-Bissau *
Madagascar * Malawi *
Mauritania * Mauritius
Mayotte Morocco
Mozambique * Namibia
Reunion Rwanda *
Sao Tome and Principe Senegal
Seychelles * Sierra Leone *
Somalia * South Africa
Saint Helena * Tanzania *
Togo * Tunisia
Uganda * Zambia *
Zimbabwe *  

Middle East

Armenia Bahrain*
Iran * Israel
Jordan* Lebanon*
Oman Palestine
Qatar United Arab Emirates

* Countries that grant visas at the landing of tourists.

** Countries that require Electronic Travel Request prior to arrival.

A passport valid for at least six months. A return onward ticket, or adequate proof that you can purchase your return fare, or proof of your ability to pay for your stay in Brazil.

List of Consulates in US and their Jurisdiction